Investigators

CHAVI-ID InvestigatorsRole on the project
Dennis Burton 
Professor 
The Scripps Research Institute 

burton@scripps.edu
CHAVI-ID Director 

Research Focus 1 Team Leader 
Research Focus 1 PI

Ian Wilson 
Professor 
Scripps Research Institute 
wilson@scripps.edu

Member, Scientific Leadership Group 

Research Focus 1 PI

William Schief 
Professor 
Scripps Research Institute 
schief@scripps.edu



Research Focus 1 PI

Michel Nussenzweig 
Professor 
The Rockefeller University 
nussen@mail.rockefeller.edu

Member, Scientific Leadership Group 

Research Focus 1 Team Leader 
Research Focus 1 PI

Rafi Ahmed 
Emory University 
rahmed@emory.edu

Research Focus 2 Team Leader 
Research Focus 2 PI

Bali Pulendran 
Professor in Pathology and Laboratory Medicine 
Emory University School of Medicine 

bpulend@emory.edu

Research Focus 2 PI

Shane Crotty 
Associate Professor Center for Infectious Disease 
La Jolla Institute for Allergy & Immunology 

shane@liai.org

Member, Scientific Leadership Group 

Research Focus 2 PI

Bruce Walker 
Harvard University 
bwalker@partners.org

Member, Scientific Leadership Group 

Research Focus 2 Team Leader 
Research Focus 2 PI

Daniel Kaufmann 
Assistant Professor 
University of Montreal Hospital  

dkaufmann@partners.org



Research Focus 2 PI

Dan Barouch 
Associate Professor of Medicine 
Ragon Institute 
dbarouch@bidmc.harvard.edu

Non-human Primate SRSC Co-leader

Guido Silvestri 
Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine 
Emory University 

gsilves@emory.edu

Non-human Primate SRSC Co-leader

Juliana McElrath 
Senior Vice President & Full Member, Vaccine & Infectious Disease Division 
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center 
Professor of Medicine 
University of Washington 

jmcelrat@fhcrc.org

Vaccine Discovery SRSC Leader

Richard Wyatt 
Professor of Immunology, Depart of Immunology and Microbial Science 
Director, Viral Immunology, IAVI Neutralizing Antibody Center 
The Scripps Research Institute 
wyatt@scripps.edu



Research Focus 1 PI

Andrew Ward 
Associate Professor, Department of Integrative Structural and Computational Biology (DISCoBio) 
The Scripps Research Institute 
abward@scripps.edu



Research Focus 1 PI

Darrell Irvine 
Professor of Materials Science & Engineering and Biological Engineering
Ragon Institute  
djirvine@mit.edu



Research Focus 2 PI

Max Crispin 
University Research Lecturer  
University of Oxford 
max.crispin@bioch.ox.ac.uk


Glycobiology SRSC Leader

Jim Paulson  
Professor  
The Scripps Research Institute  
jpaulson@scripps.edu


Glycobiology SRSC

Salvatore Butera 
The Scripps Research Institute 
sbutera@scripps.edu

Science Officer

Adam Godzik 
Professor, Director of the Bioinformatics and Systems Biology Program 
Sanford-Burnham Medical Research Institute 

adam@godziklab.org

Data Management SRSC Leader